Rohrbach51.de
Ausstellung Biografie Text
In 1971 American avant-garde filmmaker Hollis Frampton shot Nostalgia, a 16mm black and white film of twelve static images. Each image was accompanied by voice over commentary. However, sound and image did not match up. As the camera filmed one of Framptonís private images slowly crinkling and burning above the flame of a gas burner, the narration describes the following image. As such each image is also an echo of the past narration. It represents and embodies a space simultanously between nostalgia and anticipation.

In her video Diaoptric (2003), Lisa Oppenheim takes up Frapton’s structural separation of sound and image, in order to thematize the relations between photography, film and biographical awareness anew. In ten chronologically organised episodes separated by breaks in image and sound, she recounts moments of individual importance in her life based on photographs taken from family photo-albums and found imagery. For each image she finds the photographed sites, capturing and revitalising each for a second time on film. Each image presents a common and empty site to the advantage of the autobiographical narratives. Oppenheim’s first image purports to be the hospital bed in which she was born; another, a reflective store-front window of a bookstore; and yet another, the mailbox of her neighbour and prominent underground director, Kenneth Anger. The tenth image ends sibylistically with the image of a non-existent image: "I found two films in a German basement and brought them back to New York to get developed. The films seemed to belong to an architect’s home movie collection of buildings and birds. I tried to develop them in my sink with a noxious recipe found on the internet. But everything came out black".

In the photo series, Year in Pictures, 1975 (2004) Lisa Oppenheim engages again with relationships between individual and collective memory. She cuts up photogrpahs of early childhood into little photo-fragments and collages them into produce publicly known news images from Time-Life Magazine’s Year in Pictures issue from 1975, the year of her birth. Oppenheim, places layers of subjective history over the photo-journalistic compression of the spectacular and unrepeatable events of a entire year: the image of a helicopter on the roof of the US embassy in Saigon in which the last members of the US government fled at eight o’clock on the morning of April the 30 1975, which serves as the icon of the end of the Vietnam War; or the highly effective media image of the docking of the American Apollo spacecapsule and the Soviet Soyuz 19 on July 15, 1975 as the international rendezvous of cold-war powers. At the cost of her individuality to a visual whole, Oppenheim re-photographs the image, returning it to its original medium. (R.B.)
(Translation: Brian O’Connell)
Deutsche Fassung

Marcus Kaiser
Achim Lengerer


Shannon Bool
Hartwig Schwarz


Lisa Oppenheim
Andreas Zybach


Andreas Gehlen
Sascha Pohle
  


   
Impressum

Rohrbach51.de
Ausstellung Biografie Text
1971 drehte der amerikanische Avantgarde-Filmer Hollis Frampton ’Nostalgia‘, einen 16mm s/w Film aus zwölf Standbildern, bei denen jedes von einem voice-over Kommentar begleitet wird. Ton und Bild stimmen jedoch nicht überein. Während die Kamera eine private Fotografie Framptons auf einem Gasbrenner filmt, die sich durch die Hitze langsam wellt und verbrennt, antizipiert die Erzählerstimme für die Zeitdauer der Zerstörung bereits das darauffolgende Bild. Jedes Bild wird so zugleich zum Echo der vorhergehenden Erzählung. Es erscheint und verharrt in einem Bereich zwischen Nostalgie und Erwartung.

Lisa Oppenheim greift in ihrem Video ’Dioptric‘ (2003) Framptons strukturalistische Trennung von Ton und Bild auf und thematisiert die Beziehung zwischen Fotografie, Film und biografischem Gedächtnis neu. In zehn chronologisch geordneten Episoden, die sie mit Pausenbildern von einem Sternenhimmel trennt, erzählt sie individuell bedeutsame Momente ihres Lebens nach, denen Fotografien ihres Familienalbums und gefundene Bildquellen zugrunde liegen. Jeden der einst fotografierten Orte suchte sie erneut auf, erfasst und revitalisiert ihn mit der Filmkamera ein zweites Mal. Allesamt sind es Bilder beiläufiger und ’leerer‘ Schauplätze, die zugunsten der autobiographischen Erzählung zurücktreten. Oppenheims erstes Bild gilt dem Krankenhausbett, in dem sie geboren wurde, die nachfolgenden der spiegelnden Schaufensterscheibe eines Buchladens oder dem Briefkasten ihres Nachbarn und prominenten Underground Filmemachers Kenneth Anger. Die zehnte Aufnahme endet sibyllinisch mit dem nicht-existenten Bild eines Bildes: "I found two films in a German basement and brought them back to New York to get developed. The films seemed to belong to an architect‘s home movie collection of buildings and birds. I tried to develop them in my sink with a noxious recipe found on the internet, but everything came out black".

In der Fotoserie ’Year in Pictures, 1975‘ (2004) setzt Lisa Oppenheim erneut Bilder der individuellen und kollektiven Erinnerung in Beziehung. Sie zerschneidet Fotografien ihrer Kindheit in kleinste Bildfragmente und kollagiert sie zu öffentlich bekannten Nachrichtenbildern des Time-Life Magazins von 1975, dem Jahr ihrer Geburt. Die fotojournalistische Verdichtung spektakulärer und unwiederbringlicher weltpolitischer Ereignissen von einem Jahr in einzelnen Fotos - wie das Bild des Hubschraubers auf dem Dach der US-Botschaft in Saigon, der die letzten Angehörige des US-Corps am 30. April 1975 um acht Uhr morgens ausflog, als Ikon für das Ende des Vietnamkriegs, oder das medienwirksame Andocken der amerikanischen Apollo Rakete an die sowjetische Sojus 19 am 15. Juli 1975 als internationales Rendezvousmanöver der Kalten Kriegsmächteľ überlagert Oppenheim mit subjektiver Geschichte. Unter Preisgabe ihrer Individualität wird die Einzelperson so Teil einer visuellen Superform, die Oppenheim erneut abfotografiert und in ihr ursprüngliches Medium zurückführt.  (R.B.)
English Version

Marcus Kaiser
Achim Lengerer


Shannon Bool
Hartwig Schwarz


Lisa Oppenheim
Andreas Zybach


Andreas Gehlen
Sascha Pohle
  


   
Impressum